My Saturn has returned

Enjoy reading this? Your friend might, too. You can recommend it to them by sending this link. đź™‚ 

When I said I was going to take a break for the holidays, I didn’t mean I’d be taking a month-and-a-half hiatus that went well past the holidays. But hey, I run this show, so I’ve granted myself unlimited PTO. To catch up, I had a fire January (minus this weird two-week period that involved an ex coming back into my life to apologize… I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: the trash takes itself out!) I hope your January was good, too, and involved fewer exes.

Anyway, we’re back! I’m going to test drive a Friday afternoon release date, and for the time being, will be going down to a once a month send (for my sanity).

This week my queen, Kacey Musgraves, released a new single called Deeper Well. In the very first line she sings, “My Saturn has returned.” I learned (through Googling) that this is an astrology term used to “associate a cycle of transition and personal growth in a person’s life” with the time it takes Saturn to orbit the sun and return to the same degree in the horoscope as it was when they were born.

The first turn Saturn takes around the sun in a person’s life typically happens between the ages of 27 and 31, and it symbolizes initiation into adulthood. I sort of love this phrasing, especially because I happen to be right smack dab in the middle of that age range.

In a nutshell, the song Deeper Well is about Kacey determining the values and people and habits that matter in her life to really settle into a life of greater meaning. If you’ve been reading this newsletter since its inception, you know that this is the journey that I’ve been on in the last year or so. And it’s one that’s made a night-and-day difference in my well-being and happiness.

I had a great dinner with a mentor this week; we talked about the importance of being content. A lot of us - me, included - have a tendency to keep our eyes out on what’s possible ahead instead of relishing in what we have or how far we’ve come. We don’t let ourselves just exist in the present.

And I firmly believe that this kind of existing, the contentment, comes the more we sink into that “deeper well:” finding gratitude for what we have, determining our values, prioritizing our health (Kacey says she stopped smoking weed, I started intermittent fasting & doing SoulCycle), removing relationships that aren’t serving us, etc.

I’ve found a deeper well, but I’ll continue to keep digging for a lifetime.

YouTube: Fast Car - Live at the GRAMMYs | Tracy Chapman & Luke Combs

I mean, if you haven’t already watched this 500x times like I have, please give it a listen. I know it’s so cheesy, but I just feel like at a time when things are so politically fraught, this was such a special moment that allowed people to experience happiness together. I get choked up every time they pan to the audience singing along for some reason. Also when Luke is looking at Tracy. Also, when I think about the fact that this song is about “making it” and Tracy is now older and just seems so cool and she’s performing at the GRAMMYs so casually. 10/10.

What about you? Are you finding a deeper well? What thoughts came up while you were reading this? You can find me on IG or just reply to this email. Or if you have any questions, send those, too. Getting your emails is still my favorite part of the week, so please keep them coming 🙂 

âťť

“For the meaning of life differs from man to man, from day to day and from hour to hour. What matters, therefore, is not the meaning of life in general but rather the specific meaning of a person’s life at a given moment.”

Viktor E. Frankl